Lingayen, Pangasinan, Philippines

President’s Profile


Dexter Respicio Buted’s profile is foregrounded on an intersperse of varying disciplines and turfs. His experience in government and public service paved way for the crafting of a sturdy strategic plan as backbone of his vision to make Pangasinan State University (PSU) an ASEAN Premiere Academic Institution into a reality.

As current and 6th University President of PSU, he has introduced transparent governance as key towards transformation – a principle guiding him since he was Batangas Province’s top legislator and Lyceum of the Philippines University’s management executive.

His heart for the greater welfare qualified him to the accolade of not only his colleagues and different civil society organizations, but also varied award giving bodies that acknowledged and certified his excellent and outstanding performance in the field of education, leadership and public service, namely: 2016 Asia’s Education Excellence Award, 2016 Gawad Filipino Award, 2015 Gawad Sulo Award, 2013 National Idol ng TESDA, 2010 Golden Key Teacher’s Excellence Award, LPU’s Leadership Excellence Award, ASEAN Skills Competition and the 2005 Most Outstanding Educator of the Philippines distinction given by then Georgetown University’s economics luminary President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, among others.

He introduced reforms by investing in the people and in the process, which granted PSU an ISO 9001:2015 Certification status, ranked 7th as Top Ranking SUC in the country, and jumpstarted the conduct of ongoing Investors in People accreditation and soon, the Philippine Quality Awards. More so, his firm stance and clear plan of action have ushered greater gain in terms of infrastructure and technology in all units and campuses of PSU and the strengthening and upgrading of both its academic curriculum and extracurricular affairs.

All of these exemplary and selfless achievements of his, have been subject of commendation as an Outstanding Administrator by the Honorable Members of the Board of Regents.